Can flexitarians eat cheese?

In this text we are going to explain what flexitarians are and whether or not they can eat cheese. Within the group of vegetarians there are several subgroups and apart are the flexitarians who live by their own norms and principles. One of the big questions is whether or not they can eat cheese, or if there is some type of cheese that they can eat and others that they cannot.

There is a lot of trouble between vegans, vegetarians and flexitarians. In short, vegans are strict vegetarians, that is, they do not eat food of animal origin, vegetarians, in turn, are divided into several subgroups depending on the foods of animal origin they do consume and then there are flexitarians.

The latter group is not governed by any specific label, nor do they have many food prohibitions or restrictions. Rather, they base their diet on vegetables (standard vegetarian diet), and from time to time they consume foods of animal origin, be it some fish, meat, cheese, milk, yogurt, cold cuts, seafood, etc.

This consumption is usually very occasional, and each person has their reasons, either for joining a group, for adapting to the menu, for whim, for specific need, for preference, for a celebration, for rush, because it is the only thing they recognize. in the restaurant menu, by recommendation, etc.

To the question “Can flexitarians eat cheese?”, The answer is yes, if they want to. That is, they are people with a flexible diet, but mainly vegetarian , hence the name flexitarian.

Un flexitariano comiendo queso

What kind of cheese can they eat?

We have already clarified that this flexible diet does not carry labels or almost prohibitions, so if a flexible vegetarian wants to eat cheese, they will. Like a vegetarian who is a lacto-ovo vegetarian, which is a subgroup.

There is no type of cheese forbidden in this flexible diet , beyond those cheeses that feel bad for us, do not like their taste or are out of our purchasing power, for example. Not forgetting about people who are lactose intolerant and their level of intolerance.

Another option is vegan cheeses, that is, cheeses made without ingredients of animal origin, we can eat them all, without any problem. Another thing is that we do not like or do not want to eat them, but we can and currently there are many varieties including cheese to spread, gratin, for pizza, in slices, in triangles (such as those of the Caserío or the Laughing Cow), Babybel type, etc.

Many flexitarians and ovo-lacto-vegetarians tend to choose cheeses made with macrobian rennet . This rennet is achieved through the biotechnological fermentation of a filamentous fungus called Rhizomucor miehei which is of plant origin. These cheeses are made without ingredients of animal origin and the label usually says “coagulation enzyme”.

There are also cheeses without rennet and cheeses with rennet of synthetic origin or of vegetable origin that are known as vegetable rennet. All are suitable for vegetarian and flexitarian diets, among others. Actually, they are suitable for everyone who wants to try these alternatives to traditional cheese.